Perspective announces winners of 40 Under 40 Awards 2016

by Sophie Cullen on May 25, 2016 in 40 Under 40 Awards , Architecture , Awards , Interiors , Lifestyle , Products
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on Sina WeiboShare on Tencent WeiboEmail this to someone

At a celebratory event in Hong Kong yesterday, Perspective announced the 2016 winners of its annual 40 Under 40 Awards

Taking place at the Hong Kong offices of JLL yesterday, Perspective held the 2016 ceremony for its annual 40 Under 40 Awards. Celebrating its 10th anniversary, the programme was kicked-off with an insightful forum titled Sustainability and Energy Savings in Architecture and Interior Design. The panel discussion was moderated by JLL’s head of energy and sustainability services Matthew Clifford, and included Alex Shrestha, architect and urban planner; Gilbert Lennox King, COO of Energenz; Alessandro Bisagni, managing director of BEE; Julanne Minster, vice-president of business development for Delos in Asia and Rowena Gonzales, CEO of Liquid Interiors.


The event started with a forum on sustainability in architectural and interior design

Following the forum, a cocktail event was held to celebrate the 10th anniversary of the programme before the winners were announced. The forty recipients of the 2016 awards came from across Asia to receive their accolades, and span the fields of architecture, interior design, product design, art, fashion & accessories and graphic design & new media. These winners represent the best young talent in their respective industries from throughout the region, and join the 360 past awardees that have included the likes of Andre Fu, Barrie Ho, Bjarke Ingels, Joyce Wang, Ma Yansong, Sou Fujimoto and Cecile Yau.

Editorial director of Perspective magazine Suzanne Miao said of the event, “Since we launched 40 Under 40 ten years ago, we have been immensely proud, as we have watched many of our young talents grow and mature into the seasoned professionals they have become today. Some have gone on to earn worldwide acclaim such as Andre Fu, Barrie Ho, Ma Yansong, Bjarke Ingels and Sou Fujimoto. To have selected 400 winners is a phenomenal achievement, and we thank all our sponsors who have supported us on this wonderful journey and made this milestone possible.”

The event was sponsored by a number of Hong Kong businesses, including Diamond Sponsor – HKT Premier; Gold Sponsors – Barrie Ho Architecture and Interiors, circle dynamic and colourliving; Silver Sponsors – Scandanavian Business Seating and IDFFHK, and Venue Sponsor – JLL. See the full list of winners below.

stylus studio

Winners in the Interiors category, Simon Zeng and Vincent Zhang, with guests

Fashion & Accessories winner, Alexis Holm

Fashion & Accessories winner, Alexis Holm

Aarti Aggarwal, a winner in the Product Design category, travelled from India for the event

Aarti Aggarwal, a winner in the Product Design category, travelled from India for the event

ARCHITECTURE  Alex Shrestha Managing director Wonaw & Associates | Kathmandu, Nepal Darren Zhou Principal Skew Collaborative | Shanghai, China Ferdinand Cheung & Stephen Chow Directors Benoy | Hong Kong IDO (Init Design Office) Zong De-Xin, Su Yun-Feng & Chen Jun, founders Chongqing, China Mohamad Ghamlouch Founder & creative director Minus Collective | Hong Kong Philip Fung Founding principal Elsedesign | Hong Kong & Shenzhen, China Stanley Siu Founder Daydreamers Design | Hong Kong Seah Chee Huang Director DP Architects | Singapore  

ART  Kerby Rosanes Freelance illustrator Manila, Philippines Kirin Leung Founder kirin+lab | Hong Kong Romain Jacquet-Lagrèze Fine art photographer Hong Kong Seung Jin Yang Artist Seoul, South Korea Seven Tsang Founder Awkward Blooms | Hong Kong Vince Low Artist Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

FASHION & ACCESSORIES  Alexis Holm Founder & designer squarestreet | Hong Kong Kenny Chiu Chief designer MADE IN EDEN, & art director, 22°N | Hong Kong Maria Mak Founder & designer Twisted Sisters | Hong Kong Polly Ho Design director & co-founder Creatique Studio| Hong Kong Queenie Fan Creative director & co-founder Cafuné | Hong Kong

GRAPHIC DESIGN + NEW MEDIA  Benny Leung Founder & director STUDIO-M | Hong Kong Chan Hei Shing Founder Hei Shing Book Design | Hong Kong Ernest Wu Managing director The Laundromatte | Hong Kong Leo Chan Creative director On Your Mark Design Laboratory | Hong Kong Ricky Lai Creative director Open Quote | Hong Kong Ruth Chao Co-founder & creative director INDICUBE | Hong Kong

INTERIOR DESIGN  Alvin Tjitrowirjo Founder AlvinT Studio | Jakarta, Indonesia Christina Luk Founder & director Lukstudio | Shanghai, China Chu Chih-kang Design director Chu Chih-Kang Space Design | Kaohsiung City, Taiwan Cyrus Mok Interior designer LWK & Partners | Hong Kong Gavin Ho Design leader (interiors) Woods Bagot | Hong Kong Nelson Chow Principal Nelson Chow Design & Architecture | Hong Kong Simon Zeng & Vincent Zhang Co-founders & directors Stylus Studio | Hong Kong Tony Wong Chief designer A Square | Hong Kong YC Chen Founder hoo | Hong Kong

PRODUCT DESIGN  Aarti Aggarwal Creative head & owner KNOCK ON WOOD | New Delhi, India Caroline Olah Founder REDDIE | Hong Kong Darlie Lau Founder DL by DarlieLau | Hong Kong Joey Lau Director & founder CreamArt | Hong Kong Simin Qiu | Shanghai, China Vito Selma Creative director & founder Vito Selma | Cebu, Philippines

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,