World Architecture Festival Awards open call for entries

by Peace Chiu on Apr 16, 2015 in Architecture
Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on Sina WeiboShare on Tencent WeiboEmail this to someone
The Singapore Sports Hub was named the Sports Building of the Year at the World Architecture Festival (WAF) Awards 2014

The Singapore Sports Hub was named the Sports Building of the Year at the World Architecture Festival (WAF) Awards 2014

The annual World Architecture Festival is inviting architects and designers to submit entries for its awards programme

The call for entries for the World Architecture Festival (WAF) Awards, one of the world's largest international architectural events, has now opened. The festival will be celebrated at the WAF in Singapore this November. The call for entries is open until 22 May, and shortlisting will take place in early June.

Shortlisted entrants will compete for category prizes on the first two days of the three-day festival, which will take place in the Suntec Convention & Exhibition Centre from 4-6 November 2015. On the final day, category winners will present again to 'super-juries' of experienced and respected judges, who will decide on the World Landscape, Future Project and Completed Building of the Year. Winners will be honoured at a gala dinner on the night of the final day of the festival.

According to WAF, the awards are expected to attract more than 750 entries, about half of which will be shortlisted, in 31 categories.

This year's 'super-jurors' include RIBA Royal Gold Medallist Sir Peter Cook, Sou Fujimoto (Japan), Kerry Hill (Singapore), Manuelle Gautrand (France), Benedetta Tagliabue (Spain) and Charles Jencks (UK/US). Perspective's editorial director Suzanne Miao will also be one of the judges for the WAF Awards.

In addition to the main awards, there are prizes for small projects, use of wood and use of colour, decided by specialist juries.

Commenting on the awards, WAF programme director Paul Finch said, "This is an exciting time for the awards, with no predictions possible about this year's result. Since our launch in 2008 with our founder sponsor Grohe, we have had entries from about 70 countries round the world, and winners of every shape, size and type."

He added, "Every year we find new talent competing with established big names, and that is part of the attraction of the event, not just for entrants, but for delegates too."

For more information on submissions, visit www.worldarchitecturefestival.com.

, , , , , , ,

Recent Posts

  • unnamed (1)

    The spaceship has landed

    MAD designs new futuristic headquarters for Faraday Future in California

    Posted on Aug 15, 2017
  • Hilton Jinan South Hotel & Residences offers panoramic views of the nearby mountains, springs and lush scenery

    Dual luxury

    Wilson Associates designs luxury hotels in China and Japan

    Posted on Aug 15, 2017
  • Chu Chih-Kang’s Fangsuo bookstore, Chengdu

    On the cutting edge

    Seven leading designers on redefining China's architectural and design landscape

    Posted on Aug 1, 2017
  • Portal-like frames, part of the original structure, change the view as one moves around the house

    Old becomes new

    Japan’s Apollo Architects renovates old family house in Tokyo

    Posted on Aug 1, 2017